Wasps Charity Walk For Former England U21 Matt Hampson

 

What is the first thing that you think of when you think of rugby?walk4matt2

For me it’s a number of things.  It’s my Father taking me along to watch the local side when I was a child, standing on a grassy bank shouting, not really knowing what was going on but surrounded by people who, even as a kid, I trusted.

It’s going to my first training session and learning what rugby and teamwork is all about.

It’s every weekend, smashing into blokes the same size or bigger than me, whilst all the time putting my body on the line to protect my team mates. 

It’s going to watch my side play, standing on the terraces or sitting in the stands, screaming like a madman with thousands of others…and yet having a pint with the opposition fans after the game, having a laugh and a joke.

It’s about belonging.  Its about family, our rugby family.  Read full article

Donate to Walk4Matt

Leave a Reply

